Film Programme

kuratiert von Florian Wüst

The film selection curated by Florian Wüst for the 2019 Werkleitz Festival examines the thematic tension between models and ruins, which in the nearby Georgengarten (Modernity as Ruin) and Bauhaus Meisterhäuser (Modernity as Model) is to be experienced with particular intensity and fascination in an urban setting. In the context of the acute societal upheavals of the 20th century, the point of departure for both the cinematic installation in the Mausoleum and the film programme at Kiez-Kino are historical documentary productions: In Stadtbild [Cityscape] (1981) Harun Farocki explores the criticism that emerged in the mid 1960s of modernist post-war architecture, which describes the functional city as an embodiment of desolation, ruins of the living spirit. The owners and employees of a masonry and monument preservation operation in the city of Magdeburg tell of the time of Germany’s reunification in Friede Freude Katzenjammer [Peace Joy Morning After] by Detlef Gumm and Hans-Georg Ullrich (1991). With a focus on social, economic and urban changes and a number of contemporary artistic videos, the selection offers an examination of both history and future with special emphasis on questions related to the present relationship between space and ownership, memory and representation.

 

Film Space Mausoleum

25. 5.10. 6. 2019
Mausoleum Dessau-Roßlau

Even certain major buildings fell victim to the modernization of cities in both West and East Germany in the 1950s and 1960s. During this period, a number of mansions, palaces and churches – some of which had been reduced to ruins during World War II – were demolished in the wake of urban planning or through ideological motives. Since then, the reconstruction and reproduction of historic architecture has become an international trend. The reconstruction of Brunswick Palace in the city of Braunschweig, which took place over ten years ago in the face of protest, now ranks as a forerunner: behind the new/old Classical façade stands an enormous shopping centre, while the remainder of the building serves as a city library, municipal archive and palace museum. Above all, it is the conflicts between the commercial and the cultural, as well as political and community interests that underscore just how contentious the design and planning of urban spaces has always been and continues to be –a field in which far more is at stake than merely the architecture constructed. The selection of films installed in the Mausoleum reflects the role of history and collective memory in the context of various European cities and contemporary social trends. Reinforced by a glimpse into the promise of the digital future and an exploration of a profoundly material problem stemming from the legacy of the modern era – the removal and clean up of asbestos – the five documentary and artistic films explore a wide range of social and economic themes reflecting in very different ways the ambivalent relationship between model and ruin.

Films
Stadtbild

Stadtbild, Harun Farocki, BRD 1981, 45 min

Asbestos

Asbestos, Sasha Litvintseva, Graeme Arnfield, UK 2016, 20 min

Bigger Than Life

Bigger Than Life, Adnan Softić, DE/MK/IT 2018, 30 min

koordinaten

koordinaten, Juliane Henrich, DE 2018, 11 min

Remapping the Origins

Remapping the Origins, Johannes Gierlinger, AT 2018, 42 min

Friede Freude Katzenjammer [Peace, Joy, the Morning After]

29.05. 20:00
KIEZ-KINO

Founded in Magdeburg in 1886, the firm Paul Schuster Ltd specializes in the preservation of historical buildings and monuments. Nationalized under the East German regime, it was renamed VEB Denkmalpflege and led by the founder’s grandson, Hans P. H. Schuster. In 1990, the family-run company was re-privatized and once again took on its original name. Schuster devotes his business skills and civic engagement to his native city’s artistic monuments, as he strives to rescue these and other artefacts from neglect. Yet Schuster is also an elected member of the German Bundestag for the Free Democratic Party. While he is out looking for West German investors, his company’s workforce feels let down by him and by many others. Featuring historical archive footage, Friede Freude Katzenjammer portrays this versatile businessman and politician, employees of his and other companies, as well as two unemployed youths who adopt a neo-Nazi stance thanks to their bleak prospects in the initial months following German reunification – the head-on collision of capitalism and socialism. The contradictions of the new united German reality are pulled into focus in the scenes in which employees affected by “staffing adjustments” are set to be motivated and retrained in order to “boost their employability in alternative professional fields”. Without recourse to polemics, Friede Freude Katzenjammer puts personal stories under the spotlight against the backdrop of the broader anonymity of grand-stage historical events.

Friede Freude Katzenjammer, Detlef Gumm, Hans-Georg Ullrich, 1991

Friede Freude Katzenjammer [Peace, Joy, the Morning After]
Detlef Gumm, Hans-Georg Ullrich, DE 1991, 90 min
A discussion with film directors Detlef Gumm and Hans-Georg Ullrich moderated by Florian Wüst will follow the screening.

Göttliche Lage [Divine Location]

5.06. 20:00
Kiez-Kino

Over a five-year period, a construction project was carried out in the working-class Hörde district of Dortmund. The former Phoenix-Ost steel plant, which once employed 18,000 people, was torn down to make room for an artificial lake – the Phoenix-See. With a surface area of 24 hectares, the Phoenix-See is larger than the Inner Alster lake in Hamburg. Luxury apartments and detached houses have been built, there is a marina and a plaza. The project descriptions of the Phoenix-See Development Company no longer tie the future of this part of town to the hard graft, steel production and environmental pollution of the past. The new buzzwords are recreation, relaxation and Mediterranean ambiance. In Göttliche Lage, Ulrike Franke and Michael Loeken do more than document the progress of the building work, they also let investors and builders, planners and residents have their say. The film thus presents a complex picture of gentrification and of the ever-widening social gulf in post-industrial society. For in the streets neighbouring the Phoenix-See, the very same residents still have their homes as they did in the heyday of steel production. They have not moved into the new lakeside houses because they could never possibly afford to do so. And the first cracks are already beginning to appear in this promised new residential paradise: the lake, which as a rainwater storage basin forms part of the ecological restoration project for the Emscher River, has had a bathing ban imposed; parties in the evenings are a noise nuisance and the urban mansions now appear to have been built too close together.

Göttliche Lage, Ulrike Franke, Michael Loeken, 2014

Göttliche Lage
Ulrike Franke, Michael Loeken, DE 2014, 104 min
A discussion with Stephan Gudewer, STADTGUUT, Bochum, and Patrice Heine, Chemiepark Bitterfeld-Wolfen, moderated by Florian Wüst will follow the screening.

Filmprogramm

kuratiert von Florian Wüst

Das von Florian Wüst kuratierte Filmprogramm greift die thematische Beziehung zwischen Modell und Ruine auf, die in Dessau-Roßlau eine faszinierende stadträumliche Zuspitzung findet. Im Fokus auf die Stadt als Schauplatz und Zeugnis tiefgreifender gesellschaftlicher Umbrüche haben sowohl die filmische Installation im Mausoleum als auch das Filmprogramm im Kiez-Kino je einen historischen Dokumentarfilm als Ausgangspunkt: Harun Farockis Stadtbild (1981) beschäftigt sich anhand von Fotografien West-Berlins mit der ab Mitte der 1960er-Jahre aufkommenden Kritik an der architektonischen Nachkriegsmoderne, welche die funktionale Stadt als Bild gewordene Trostlosigkeit, als Ruine des Lebendigen beschreibt. Von der Zeit unmittelbar nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung erzählt Friede Freude Katzenjammer von Detlef Gumm und Hans-Georg Ullrich (1991) am Beispiel der Umstrukturierung eines Magdeburger Bau- und Denkmalpflegebetriebs. In Kombination mit zeitgenössischen Filmen von Ulrike Franke & Michael Loeken, Johannes Gierlinger, Juliane Henrich, Sasha Litvintseva & Graeme Arnfield und Adnan Softić bietet das Filmprogramm eine Auseinandersetzung mit Geschichte und Zukunft, die sich um die Fragen nach dem gegenwärtigen Verhältnis von Raum und Besitz, Erinnerung und Identität, Simulation und Repräsentation, Körper und Materie dreht.

 

Filmraum im Mausoleum

25. 5.10. 6. 2019
Mausoleum Dessau-Roßlau

In den 1950er- und 1960er-Jahren machte die Modernisierung der Städte, in der BRD wie der DDR, nicht vor prominenten Repräsentationsbauten halt. Teils als Ruinen aus dem 2. Weltkrieg hervorgegangen, wurde so manch Stadtschloss oder Kirche schließlich abgerissen – aus stadtplanerischen oder ideologischen Gründen. Inzwischen liegen die Rekonstruktion und Simulation historischer Architektur im internationalen Trend. Der gegen Protest durchgesetzte Wiederaufbau des Braunschweiger Schlosses vor über 10 Jahren mag prototypisch erscheinen: Hinter der neu-alten klassizistischen Fassade befindet sich ein riesiges Einkaufszentrum, die restliche Gebäudefläche wird als Stadtbibliothek, Stadtarchiv und Schlossmuseum genutzt. Besonders im Konflikt zwischen kommerziellen und kulturellen, politischen und nachbarschaftlichen Interessen wird deutlich, wie umkämpft die Gestaltung des städtischen Raumes immer war und ist: ein Ort, an dem es um weit mehr geht als gebaute Architektur. So reflektiert die im Mausoleum installativ präsentierte Filmauswahl die Rolle von Geschichte und kollektiver Erinnerung im Kontext unterschiedlicher europäischer Städte und aktueller gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen. Ergänzt um den Blick auf das Versprechen einer digitalen Zukunft sowie auf ein zutiefst materielles Problem im Umgang mit dem Vermächtnis der Moderne, der Asbestsanierung, spannen die fünf dokumentarischen und künstlerischen Filme einen größeren sozialen und ökonomischen Rahmen, in dem sich das ambivalente Verhältnis von Modell und Ruine auf vielschichtige Weise widerspiegelt.

Filme
Stadtbild

Stadtbild, Harun Farocki, BRD 1981, 45 min

Asbestos

Asbestos, Sasha Litvintseva, Graeme Arnfield, UK 2016, 20 min

Bigger Than Life

Bigger Than Life, Adnan Softić, DE/MK/IT 2018, 30 min

koordinaten

koordinaten, Juliane Henrich, DE 2018, 11 min

Remapping the Origins

Remapping the Origins, Johannes Gierlinger, AT 2018, 42 min

Friede Freude Katzenjammer

29.05. 20:00
KIEZ-KINO

Die 1886 in Magdeburg gegründete Firma Paul Schuster GmbH, Fachbetrieb für Bau- und Denkmalpflegewurde zu DDR-Zeiten verstaatlicht und als VEB Denkmalpflege unter der Leitung des Enkels des Firmengründers, Hans P. H. Schuster, geführt. 1990erfolgte die Reprivatisierung des Familienunternehmens, das seither wieder den Gründungsnamen trägt. Schusters unternehmerisches und ehrenamtliches Wirken ist den Kunstdenkmälern seiner Heimatstadt gewidmet: Er rettet sie und andere Artefakte vor dem Vergessen. Gleichzeitig sitzt Schuster für die FDP im Deutschen Bundestag. Während er in Westdeutschland nach Investoren Ausschau hält, fühlt sich die Belegschaft seiner Firma nicht nur von ihm im Stich gelassen. Im Wechsel mit historischen Archivaufnahmen zeigt Friede Freude Katzenjammer den agilen Unternehmer und Politiker, die Angestellten seines und anderer Betriebe oder auch zwei arbeitslose Jugendliche, die neonazistische Schlüsse aus der perspektivlosen Situation ziehen: das ungebremste Aufeinanderprallen von Kapitalismus und Sozialismus in den ersten Monaten nach der Wiedervereinigung. Die Widersprüche der neuen gesamtdeutschen Wirklichkeit werden besonders in den Szenen deutlich, in denen die von den „Personalanpassungen“ betroffenen Arbeiter und Arbeiterinnen motiviert und weitergebildet werden sollen, um „ihre Aussichten zur Vermittelbarkeit in eine andere Tätigkeit zu erhöhen.“ Ohne zu skandalisieren, hebt Friede Freude Katzenjammer individuelle Geschichten aus der Anonymität der „großen“ Geschichte hervor.

Friede Freude Katzenjammer, Detlef Gumm, Hans-Georg Ullrich, 1991

Friede Freude Katzenjammer
Detlef Gumm, Hans-Georg Ullrich, DE 1991, 90 min
Anschließendes Publikumsgespräch mit den Regisseuren Detlef Gumm und Hans-Georg Ullrich, moderiert von Florian Wüst

Göttliche Lage

5.06. 20:00
Kiez-Kino

Über fünf Jahre hinweg wurde inmitten des Dortmunder Arbeiterviertels Hörde gebaut: Das ehemalige Stahlwerk Phoenix-Ost, das einst 18.000 Menschen beschäftigte,ist einem künstlichen See gewichen, dem Phoenix-See. Mit 24 Hektar Wasserfläche ist der Phoenix-See größer als die Hamburger Binnenalster. An seinen Ufern sind luxuriöse Wohnungen und Einfamilienhäuser entstanden, es gibt einen Marina und eine Piazza. Die Projektbeschreibungen der Phoenix-See-Entwicklungsgesellschaftassoziierten die Zukunft des Stadtteils nicht mehr mit harter Arbeit, Stahlproduktion und Umweltverschmutzung. Die neuen Schlagworte lauteten Freizeit, Erholung und mediterranes Flair. In Göttliche Lage dokumentieren Ulrike Franke und Michael Loeken nicht nur den Verlauf der Bauarbeiten, sie lassen auch Investoren und Bauherren, Planer und Anwohnerinnen zu Wort kommen. So entwirft der Film ein komplexes Bild der Gentrifizierung und des sich vertiefenden sozialen Zwiespalts in der post-industriellen Gesellschaft. Denn in den Nachbarstraßen des Phoenix-Sees wohnen noch immer diejenigen, die hier schon zu den Hochzeiten des Stahlkochens wohnten. Sie sind nicht in die neuen Häuser am See gezogen, weil sie sich das niemals leisten könnten. Aber auch das versprochene neue Wohnparadies hat bereits erste Risse: Der See, der alsRegenwasserrückhaltebecken Bestandteil derRenaturierung der Emscher ist, wurde mit einem Badeverbot belegt, Partys im Freien stören die Nachtruhe, die Stadtvillen erscheinen zu eng aneinander gebaut.

Göttliche Lage, Ulrike Franke, Michael Loeken, 2014

Göttliche Lage
Ulrike Franke, Michael Loeken, DE 2014, 104 min
Anschließendes Publikumsgespräch mit Stephan Gudewer, STADTGUUT, Bochum und Patrice Heine, Chemiepark Bitterfeld-Wolfen, moderiert von Florian Wüst